I finally broke down and joined Facebook

facebook1.jpeg

I am totally on board with the whole Web 2.0 social networking thing, but there are a whole bunch of things about MySpace that I just can’t stomach. So, I finally broke down and joined Facebook. Problem is, now I have no friends and I’m totally lost and clueless about what to do next.

Any of you guys or gals on facebook wanna mentor a newbie of the most hopeless sort?

~ by skipjenkins on July 15, 2007.

12 Responses to “I finally broke down and joined Facebook”

  1. It seems the Scobleizer is a big fan of Facebook, I still have no idea how it works. I just add stuff and whatever and that’s it. 😕

  2. Honestly, I’m still figuring out how it works. It seems to be a MySpace but without the script kiddies. Get on it, we can be lost in Facebook land together.

  3. Facebook is certainly a huge learning curve coming from a unfortunate myspace background, Although I have 6 friends and am a admin in 1 Group.

    I really don’t know how to use it!

  4. kewl

  5. Congratulations. Facebook is so superior to MySpace that I hesitate to even compare them. Facebook actually creates a living network of friends, with updates telling you when your friends add notes or photos, and also when two friends you have in common tag each other in photos or become friends. The list goes on and on. Unlike MySpace, which is just a huge cluster of individual webpages whose only interaction is to allow people to post comments and bulletins. You can actually tag your friends in photos, so when someone runs their cursor over a face in a photo, the person’s name pops up. And of course, Facebook doesn’t allow stupid background themes, so you can actually read everyone’s profile. I’m thinking of canceling my MySpace too, but I like to keep it around in case an old friend pops up. Good luck!

  6. So, you wanna be my Facebook mentor? Let me bounce questions off you etc?

  7. I’ve been using it for a while now, but it still has some things that confuse me. It’s an interesting idea though, not as unstable as myspace. Thats a plus!

  8. Yeah, I just couldnt deal with the security holes. And most of the users….

  9. I dunno if it’s just me, but the profile page can become quite cluttered when adding and doing stuff, needs a better layout. 😦

  10. I seem to like the profile page better than the actual home page.

  11. myspace layout stealer

    then again, the opposite could be true

  12. huh? I dont get it stealer? Was this just self-promotion?

Leave a Reply

 
