Where I’ve been, what I’ve done

First off, I’d like to not apologize. Long time friends (or readers or listeners) of mine know that I tend to pop in and out alot. It just happens.

Since I haven’t posted since the Fanime wrap-up, I figured I would give you guys a blow-by-blow of whats been going on with me lately. Just so you know, it’s almost midnight and I’m sore as hell from my football game (European football, not American) so this is going to be a pretty random stream of consciousness post.

I’ve been reading a lot of comics lately, and I am proud to announce that I have gotten over my phobia of trade paperbacks. I used to be that guy who would only buy weekly/monthly floppy books and thought trades were cheating. Fortunately I’ve got a lovely daughter now (which, if you aren’t aware, eats up a lot of free time and money), and there are just so many great stories being published right now that it makes way more sense to buy the trades.

walkingdead1.jpg

Speaking of trades, I got an email from a reader (thanks Janine) who turned me on to what has become my favorite running series The Walking Dead. It’s a survival horror series in the zombie genre, but the main draw of the series is not zombie killing action, but rather the dramatic frictions between the characters who are stuck in a world with no rest, no safety, and no way out. It reminds me of Lost in that within each story arc, the plot advances not only where and how the protagonists are fending for themselves, but also feeds us more of the motivations and past experiences of the survivors, which in turn creates a bond with the characters. The first 36 issues have been compiled into 6 trades. Do yourself a favor and check them out.

dmzmap.jpg

Also among the trades I have picked up recently are the first two books of DMZ. This Vertigo book is set in the extremely near future after tensions in the US have caused a civil war between the United States of America and the Free States. Author Brian Wood best describes the buildup of events in this quote from a 2006 interview with Chris Arrant.

Midwestern militia groups revolt against their local governments in protest of rampant U.S. adventurism overseas and, in the absence of the National Guard, are able to gain far more ground than they thought possible. Small insurgent groups pop up in towns and cities across the country, and a sizable force, the Free States Army, pushes toward Manhattan. The city proves too big for them to take, and also for the U.S. Army to defend. The war stalls there, a stalemate, neither side being able to shift things.

In non-comic news, it reached 100 degrees F in the valley today, making the pool a necessity lately. Unfortunately, a couple of weeks ago, the pool was fugly, but after almost 2 grand in new pool equipment and chemicals later, it now looks like this…

pool2.jpg

Well, it only looks exactly like that when someone jumps into it.

As a minor of marginal importance, I also recently attended a 3M vehicle wrap class to learn some tips and tricks for vehicle wraps. We wrapped the instructor’s rental cars, which struck me as a bit odd, but who the hell am I to stick up for the rights of Enterprise Rent-a-Car. Then I wrapped the helmet of the president of the my local Ruff Ryders m/c club. Thats right, I got clout now bitches.

wrapclass1.jpg helmetwrap.jpg ruffryders.jpg

Wrapping would be fun even if you didn’t get to use blowtorches. 🙂

Oh, and my psycho hose beast she-boss fired me a couple of weeks after this class, which they paid for. Brilliant tactical business decision there.  Yeah, I got fired. The whole story, or at least a condensed version of it, is here.

Ok cats and kittens, I’m getting tired here so I’m going to leave you with a video of Lucius trying his hand at R/C aviation. We never saw that plane or it’s brave crew again.

Oh yeah, I’ve also been playing quite a bit of Forza 2, so if you’re online… bring it.

~ by skipjenkins on June 15, 2007.

3 Responses to “Where I’ve been, what I’ve done”

  1. Everyday on my way to work I drive by a park where people fly their r/c planes, and I often wondered what would happen if one of those planes went to far and went out of range of the controller. I was laughing at this video thinking “now I know”

  2. apology accepted

  3. @ Slinger – Thats what happens, lol. The best we could tell it made it about 2 miles before we totally lost track of it. When they say “Do not fly in windy conditions”, they mean it…

    @ Will – Bite me fanboy!

Leave a Reply

 
