Bitten by the comic bug

I intended to take my buddy, The Bloodstained Son of Ill Fate, to A-1 Comics this last weekend for his birthday, but the universe conspired against us and the clutch cable snapped in his Acura so rather than do fun cool stuff like go the comic book shop and out to Fry’s we trudged down Sunrise Blvd. in the rain to retrieve it (and his wife incidentally).

Long story short, Wilhelm, The Bloodstained Son of Ill Fate (you gotta say the whole thing, like A Tribe Called Quest) and I ended up heading out there at the crack of noon today. I haven’t collected comics in a long time and the Flying Spaghetti Monster only knows where my longboxes went, but wandering the stacks and shelves today totally got me going again.

I picked up a short graphic novel entitled Serenity: Those Left Behind that expands on the adventures of Cap’n Mal Reynolds and his crew. It takes place between the storyline presented in the short lived Firefly series and the storyline capping motion picture Serenity.

I couldnt resist a title called Pirates vs Ninjas because it’s got both ninjas a pirates for Chris’ sake. Unfortunately, poor art and even worse cliches plague this book to the point where I cant see myself reading another issue for all the ninjas and pirates in the world. Meh.

I love zombies. No, I really love zombies. Fast zombies, slow zombies, dumb zombies, smart zombies, I love them all. Needless to say, I loved this book. Plague of the Living Dead is a grotesque, wonderfully written and illustrated story of people facing zombies on two fronts. Set in the Vietnam era, with twin storylines based both in southeast asia and the eastern seaboard of the good ‘ol USA, this issue begins a storyline of sexually adventurous high school seniors as they flee for their lives from the living dead. Kitch blends with the gruesome with great results.

 

I also picked up Sam Noir: Samurai Detective Special Edition #1 and Sam Noir: Ronin Holiday #1 – #3. This was an impulse purchase but a great find nonetheless. It carries heavy themes of 1950’s pulp detective Dick Tracy-ness, but with a strong thread of Dixon Hill. It sets the stage for the story in fuedal Japan, and while this at first glance may seem like an odd combination, it doesnt hurt the suspension of disbelief. It addition to the great story and dialogue, the art is done in an airbrushed style that looks simply great. Check it out!

~ by skipjenkins on April 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
