Sax and Violins

 

This is a billboard being run in Europe right now. I really wish we, as a society were not so puritanical that something like this would cause an uprising ‘for the children’. I have a child, a daughter even, and I would certainly much rather have her see this billboard and have to explain it to her than this poster for example…

 

Maybe I would be better off raising me family in Europe, where (it seems to me) that society in general finds it much more acceptable to show sexual content than violence, where as here in the states we dont bat an eye at showing someone beaten to death on prime time tele, but showing a nipple is just out of the question.

~ by skipjenkins on April 10, 2007.

6 Responses to “Sax and Violins”

  1. I disagree with you there. The first ad is full of sexual innuendo for a blow job, there is nothing honest or direct as a ‘nipple’ about it. A child may not understand it (though I wonder how you plan to ‘explain’ this particular ad to your daughter). As an woman, I find it offensive, at first and second glance.
    As for the hills have eyes 2 poster, I’ve seen more deplorable stuff that kids oughtn’t be exposed to. Red Riding Hood’s grandma being dragged off to be eaten by the big bad wolf, perhaps?

  2. In the interests of full disclosure, I should say my daughter is only 4 months old, so I guess the fact that I wont have to have that conversation for a while gives me a false sense of how I will handle that conversation.
    So you may be right on that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I dont quite understand why you find offensive about it however. Maybe it’s my perception, but unless the girl was coerced or forced in some way I dont see a blowjob as a offensive or subjugative act.

    Thanks for checking out the blog, and for replying. I always love the chance for debate and dialog, especially when it can be done with tact and style, which from my briefest reading of your blog you seem to have in spades ๐Ÿ™‚

    Skip

  3. Not against blow-jobs or anything ๐Ÿ™‚ But don’t you think the thought of those cuts held together by band-aids is a bit morbid? I believe they’re trying to say she opened her mouth so wide the corners of her mouth ripped. Well, honestly you’d need stitches for that, plain band-aids wouldn’t suffice…It looks clean here but it’s pretty obvious what they’re implying…which goes further to imply that she doens’t really have a problem have the corners of her mouth being ripped/cut. It gets more bizarre the more I think about it…I’d like to send the ad company an altered less clean version of this image.

    On the other hand, I can think of several caricatured examples of the other side indulging in oral sex. But that’s my imagination running wild.

    4 months?! I see, the only thing you have to worry about right now are nappy bills ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Just explain it to her now and be done with it. If she doesn’t understand words yet it’s not your fault. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. i thought that was damn funny…although, im just a college student, so i guess that shows my maturity level..

  6. […] didnโ€™t think there was a word for it until I followed this link on Heartโ€™s blog. Moreover this contributed to it. It just occurred to me that I could make โ€˜artโ€™. The layered kind. Iโ€™ve […]

Leave a Reply

 
